The Angry UFOlogist
Welcome
Login

NASA @60 The Role of the Robots

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

URL

You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.
URL


Added by The Angry UFOlogist in Space and Cosmology
108 Views

Description

Original air date: Thursday, Sept. 6 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0200 UTC)

As NASA celebrates its 60th anniversary, this panel discussion will look back over the decades at how far our robotic exploration has come, and consider where we might be headed.

Much has changed about the way we explore space in the 60 years since NASA began operations on Oct. 1, 1958. Today’s robotic spacecraft are beginning to experiment with laser communications, artificial intelligence and 3-D printed parts. But some of the first spacecraft the U.S. sent to the Moon included parts made of wood; some used to record data on motorized magnetic tape recorders.

Despite all the advances, one thing hasn’t changed: we still rely on robotic spacecraft to extend our senses above and beyond Earth and to blaze a trail as precursors for human explorers.

Panelists:
Rob Manning
Julie Webster
Charles Norton
Anne Marinan

Moderator:
Preston Dyches, JPL Public Outreach Specialist


Subscribe For More Videos Like This: http://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace?sub_confirmation=1

See my latest videos : https://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace/videos

Bringing you the BEST Space and Astronomy videos online. Showcasing videos and images from the likes of NASA,ESA,Hubble etc.

Join me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spaceisamazing

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmazingSpace2

Google+ : http://goo.gl/1WCBn9

Music by Keving Macleod
http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/

Tags: Space Videos

Post your comment

RSS