The Angry UFOlogist

Hawking Radiation | Space Time

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Sorry, only registred users can create playlists.



It’s the most famous prediction of perhaps the most famous genius of our time ... Stephen Hawking's theory of Hawking Radiation.

You can further support us on Patreon at

Get your own Space Time t­-shirt at

Tweet at us! @pbsspacetime
Email us! pbsspacetime [at] gmail [dot] com
Comment on Reddit:

Help translate our videos!

Quantum Vacuum Playlist

Previous Episode:
Should Space be Privatized?

Soon after Einstein revealed his great general theory of relativity in 1915, physicists realized that it allowed for the possibility of catastrophic gravitational collapse. In places of extreme density like the dead core of a massive star, space and time could be dragged inwards to create a hole in the universe: a boundary in spacetime called an event horizon that could be entered, but from beyond which nothing could return. Once formed, there was nothing in theory or imagination that could bring material consumed back to the outside universe. These black holes should exist forever – only growing, never shrinking.


Black Hole Explosions?
S. W. Hawking (1974) (paywall)

Particle Breation by Black Holes
S. W. Hawking (1975) (paywall)

Hawking Radiation as Tunneling
M. K. Parikh & F. Wilczek (2002)

Hosted by Matt O'Dowd
Written by Matt O'Dowd and Graeme Gossel
Produced by Rusty Ward
Graphics by Grayson Blackmon
Assistant Editing and Sound Design by Mike Petrow and Linda Huang
Made by Kornhaber Brown (

Special thanks to our Patreon Big Bang, Quasar and Hypernova Supporters:

Big Bang
David Nicklas
Faisal Saud
Anton Lifshits
Joey Redner

Tambe Barsbay
Mayank M. Mehrota
Mars Yentur
Mark Rosenthal
Dean Fuqua
Roman Pinchuk

Matthew O’Connor
Eugene Lawson
Martha Hunt
Joseph Salomone
Chuck Zegar
Craig Peterson
Jordan Young
John Hofmann
Barry Hatfield
Edmund Fokschaner
Kevin Costello

Thanks to our Patreon Gamma Ray Burst Supporters:
James Hughes
Fabian Olesen
Kris Fernet
Jane Meyers
James Flowers
Greg Allen
Denys Ivanov
Nick Virtue
Alexey Eromenko
Nicholas Rose
Scott Gossett
Mark Vasile
Patrick Murray
Sultan Alkhulaifi
Alex Seto
Michal-Peanut Karmi
Erik Stein
Daniel Lyons
Kevin Warne
JJ Bagnell
J Rejc
Avi Goldfinger
John Pettit
Florian Stinglmayr
Benoit Pagé-Guitard
Nathan Leniz
Brandon Labonte
David Crane
Greg Weiss

Post your comment